It’s All About the Benjamin

Benjamin Franklin.

Image via Wikipedia

305 years ago today American Founding Father, inventor, business man, publisher, self-improvement guru, and all-around great guy Benjamin Franklin was born. It wasn’t until recently that I learned to appreciate his genius.

If you haven’t already read his Autobiography, I highly recommend it. In his own words, Franklin provides unique insights into the times in which he lived. It also contains a wealth of practical knowledge that is just as applicable today as when Franklin originally wrote it.

One of my favorite sections of the Autobiography is found in the appendices under the title The Way to Wealth.. You can read it in its entirety here.

The full text is available for free from a variety of online sources. However, I recommend checking out the free LibroVox repository which links not only the ebook, but the audiobook in a variety of audio formats ready for your iPod.

Autobiography of Ben
Image courtesy of Archive.org

I’m sure many of us have resolved to read more often in 2011. In a few short weeks most of us, however, will quit because “we just don’t have the time”. Audiobooks enable you to read in the car, the train, at the gym, while doing chores, etc. Make time to read this classic today by downloading it now.

For more on Benjamin Franklin check out these excellent articles from one of my favorite blogs, The Art of Manliness, below:

Do you feel as strongly about Benjamin Franklin as I do? Is he over or underrated? Sound off in the comments below.

One thought on “It’s All About the Benjamin

  1. AustinDM

    Franklin’s Autobiography is one of my two favorite autobiographies. The other is the autobiography of Malcolm X.

    Of course, those are the only autobiographies I’ve ever read that I can recall, so the field is somewhat limited.

    Still, from what I can remember, it was a good book, I might just take you up on the free offer and listen to it in my incredibly boring drawing class.

Comments are closed.