Microsoft Word on the iPhone for Free!

I recently read that Microsoft has been mulling over bringing Office to the Mac App Store. This would be a great boon to Mac users, however, what I think most people really want is for the Redmond software giant to bring Office to the iPhone/iPad (iOS) platform.

So, I’m pleased to announce that this week I was successfully able to get Microsoft Word running on my iPod Touch. Best of all, I did it all for free!

Microsoft Word (5.5) Running on an iPhone!
Photo via my flickr

Because they’re really not all that evil, the fine folks at Microsoft released a special, Y2K compliant edition of Microsoft Word for free. However, because they really are kinda evil, the version they released only runs on DOS. You can still download Microsoft Word 5.5 free of charge.

Lorem ipsum - Microsoft Word on iPhone!
Photo via my flickr

Did you download it? So, now that you’ve got yourself a totally gratis copy of neither the latest, nor the greatest word processing software of all time, what’s the logical next step? Installing it on your iPhone, iPad, and/or iPod Touch, of course!

This hack is only possible if you have the iDOS app installed on your iOS device. If you’re running the 1.0 version of the app, you can add the files directly via iTunes otherwise you’ll have to add them directly to your device using iPhone Explorer, or something similar.

For more detailed instructions of installing DOS apps on your iOS gadget see TouchArcade’s excellent writeup.

Word Save Dialog Box - Running on iPhone!
Photo via my flickr

If you want a way to create and edit (extremely) simple Word docs on your iOS device AND you were fortunate enough to grab a copy of iDOS before it was yanked (again) from the AppStore this hack is right up your alley.

I’m not saying you should run DOS apps on your iPhone. I just like knowing that I can. What old school games and apps are you running on your iPhone? Which retro apps and games do you wish you could install? Sound off in the comments below.

One thought on “Microsoft Word on the iPhone for Free!

Comments are closed.