Chocolate Snob

Cadbury Chocolate

Photo courtesy of my flickr.

As Americans, we’re really great at a lot of things—music, television, movies, theme parks, junk food consumption, etc. Making delicious chocolate, however, is not one of our strengths.

In previous years I would debate anyone who dissed American chocolatiers and their products as inferior.

“We’ve got Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and Snickers,” I’d say. But, I was missing the point.

It’s taken me a long time to acknowledge the truth. American chocolate is really, really lousy. It’s waxy, it’s dull, it’s blah—in short, it’s not very good.

American chocolate companies distract us from the truth of how lackluster their chocolate is by stuffing it with peanut butter, caramel, nuts, nougat, pretzels, and anything else they can think of to hide the truth from us. It wasn’t until we were living in Singapore that I figured this all out for myself.

I was teaching a Sunday School class of 11–year olds for my church and wanted to bring them some goodies. I ran to the grocery store and bought a bag of plain milk chocolate from Cadbury.

I’d bought the bag because it was a few bucks cheaper than the bag of bite-size Snickers I had intended to buy. Before church, I popped open the bag and made an important discovery.

Cadbury makes amazing chocolate! It’s creamy, it’s soft, it’s smooth, it’s awesome. It didn’t need to be stuffed with anything to make it great.

I never knew plain milk chocolate could be so good. I couldn’t eat an entire Hershey’s Milk Chocolate bar. I could by contrast eat a pound of Cadbury Dairy Milk chocolate in a single sitting and still want more.

I’m now an unapologetic chocolate snob. I’ve probably annoyed more than one person as I’ve bemoaned the inferiority of American chocolatiers and their products while extolling the virtues of chocolate made elsewhere.

Where do you stand on the American versus foreign chocolate issue? This being a non-election year, it could be a heated debate. Sound off in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Snob

  1. AustinDM

    The American vs. Foreign chocolate there is no comparison. Foreign 10:1. We went to IKEA recently and got a couple of their Swiss chocolate bars and let me just say, we will be getting them again. Soon.

Comments are closed.