Quick and Easy April Fool’s Day Prank for Macs

Ah, April 1st, the day on which, as Mark Twain said, “we are reminded of what we are on the other three hundred and sixty-four”.

What better way to have some fun today than to mess with someone you love by messing with something they love. If they own a Mac, here’s a simple trick.

Mac OS X - Invert Colors Shortcut
Photo via my flickr

When they’re not looking quickly enter the following shortcut on the keyboard.

Control + Option + Command + 8

This key combo causes Mac OS X to invert all your display colors.

Inverted Mac Color Scheme - OS X 10.6
Photo via my flickr

In most cases this will induce panic on the unsuspecting user who returns to find their beloved Mac looking all wonky. Because this is a relatively obscure feature of Mac OS X it should take them a while to figure out how to return their Mac to normal.

If you’re quick you can even do it right in front of them. As long as the person you’re pranking has their eyes on the screen and not the keyboard, they’ll have no idea what you did or how to fix it!

For some reason, Apple thought this was a useful feature to include in their OS. Apparently, it’s supposed to help provide relief when your eyes get tired (via Silvermac).

Before and After
Photo via Apple

My time as an IT auditor left me paranoid, so I never leave my MacBook without locking the Desktop. If you fear reprisal for your April Fool’s Day activities (or if have any common sense) you would do well to do the same.

Do you know any other great ways to prank a Mac user? Sound off in the comments below. If you’re still using a PC, the joke is already on you.

3 thoughts on “Quick and Easy April Fool’s Day Prank for Macs

  1. AustinDM

    I would do this to my Mac user, (Tracie), but my other Mac user (Morgan) does more stuff to mess up that poor computer than I ever could.

    Maybe I’ll do it to all the Macs in my computer lab at school…

Comments are closed.