Quick Tip: Reorganize Channels on Your Roku Homescreen

Flare.app Logo

Image via PDFuu.com

One of the things I love about the Roku is its ability to add and remove channels on-demand. Beyond just Netflix and Hulu Plus, this means that I have a much more granular level of control over what access to entertainment we have in our home.

One thing I struggled with in the past, however, was organizing my home screen—whenever I added a new channel there just didn’t seem to be a quick and easy way for me to get it placed in an order that made sense to me.

Roku 1
Image via my flickr.

You see, when you add a channel to the Roku it doesn’t ask you where you want it. Your new channel is unceremoniously plunked at the far left.

The only way I could figure out how to reorder my channels was to delete them and add them again in the order I wanted them to appear. This wasn’t very elegant or efficient.

So, after a highly productive two minute chat online with Roku’s Tech Support, I resolved the issue and would like to share the results with you.

Just Press *

  1. Using the Roku remote, browse to the channel you want to move.

Roku 2
Image via my flickr.

  1. Press the Options button (outlined in red).

Roku Remote
Image via my flickr.

  1. A popup menu will display. Select the option to “change channel position” and press the OK button.

Roku 3
Image via my flickr.

  1. A dashed line will appear around the channel’s icon. Press either the Left or Right buttons on your remote to position the channel.

Roku 4
Image via my flickr.

  1. When you’re satisifed with where the channel is press the OK button.

Roku 5
Image via my flickr.

  1. Repeat steps 1-5 as needed. Smile smuggly, knowing that your Roku channels are finally in precisely the order you like them.

Roku 6
Image via my flickr.

According to the Roku Tech Support rep, this feature isn’t documented in either their manual or on their help site (I did check beforehand). Please also note, this tip works only with the Roku XD and XDS models.

Did this help you love your Roku a little bit more? Sound off in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Quick Tip: Reorganize Channels on Your Roku Homescreen

  1. Seanette

    This actually worked quite well for me on my SD, using the DVPRemote app on my iPod Touch instead of the remote that came with the Roku (and lacks the * button). Now if I could get the system buttons (especially that stupid channel spotlight!) out of my way…..

  2. Seanette

    I know, I COULD buy the 12-button remote from Roku, but DVPRemote is cheaper and I think it has functions the remote doesn’t. 🙂

Comments are closed.