Polaroid: Everything New Is Old Again

Pola 6 (Unorthodox Pop)
Image via my flickr. Processed using Flare for Mac.

Long before digital cameras (or Demetri Martin for that matter), Polaroid cameras brought generations of us instant nostalgia.

Pola 3 (Light Leak)
Image via my flickr. Processed using Flare for Mac.

I loved my grandpa’s Polaroid when I was a kid. There was something magical about the hazy, off-color images they reproduced.

Pola 1 (Amazing Stories)
Image via my flickr. Processed using Flare for Mac.

Apps like Hipstamatic on the iPhone, Mac app Flare, and photo-sharing site Instagram are bringing back the glorious look and style of the analog imperfections of yesteryear.

Pola 2 (B5-1)
Image via my flickr. Processed using Flare for Mac.

If you still haven’t bought Flare, now’s the time you really should. At its regular price of $19.99 it’s a must-buy—at its limited time sale price of $9.99 from the Mac App Store it’s a steal.

Pola 4 (Faded Applause)
Image via my flickr. Processed using Flare for Mac.

What do you think of the current state of retro photography apps? Love ’em? Hate ’em? Meh? Sound off in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Polaroid: Everything New Is Old Again

  1. Ammon Post author

    Thanks for putting so much time, thought, and effort into that comment. Wow, that was valuable feedback.

    Oh, wait, I guess I kind of asked for that … never mind.

    1. Ammon Post author

      I have no idea whether the camera even works, let alone if I can get film for it. It still powers on (goodness knows how old the batteries inside are), but other than eBay I’m not sure where I could even look for film.

Comments are closed.