Spoken Like a True Texican

Flag of Texas

Image via Wikipedia

As a native Angelino and hispanohablante I die inside a little whenever I hear one of my Texan family members, friends, or co-workers mangle the Spanish language I love.

Really, given Texas’ proximity to Mexico and the large number of people of Mexican descent living there you’d think they’d be a little better at pronouncing things. If you thought that, however, you’d be disappointed.

I won’t beleaguer the point further, but living in Houston there are three names in particular that make me cringe whenever I hear them.

San Antonio

Spurs fans are the worst. I don’t know how supportive they are of their team, but they can’t even pronounce the name of the city they live in correctly.  You don’t say San Antone, it’s San An-tone-ee-oh.

San Jacinto

I usually hear this one in conjunction with the College of the same name. It’s a shame that an institute of higher learning can’t even be bothered to teach their students how to say their name correctly. It’s not  San Jasinna and especially not San Jack. If you must say it, it’s San Ha-seen-toe.

San Felipe

Some of the best and biggest companies in the world have their offices on San Felipe Street in Houston. Apparently, you don’t need to be able to say the name in order to work there. The proceeding examples are bad, but neither drives me up the wall quite like San Phillippy. Please, say it with me—San Fay-lee-pay.

What words or names drive you crazy when you hear them butchered verbally? Sound off in the comments below.

8 thoughts on “Spoken Like a True Texican

  1. AustinDM

    San Falippy was one that always made me smile, but then I’ve never been that loyal to the Spanish language.
    When I was in Virginia there was “Staunton” pronounced by locals as “Stanton.” Legend would have you believe that it was pronounced that way to catch spying Yanks during the Civil War who didn’t pronounce it that way. Kind of like a southern “Shibboleth.”

    I can’t think of many mispronunciations that bother me, it used to be poor grammar, now I’m bothered by ‘grammar nazis’ who correct one for saying “you and me” rather than “you and I.”

  2. Ammon Post author

    In the case of Utahns, they have their own unique way of saying things. You always know someone from Utah based on how they say Toole and Hurricane.

  3. Selma

    That would drive me crazy too. A lot of Australians mispronounce things or shorten them. It’s sort of a characteristic of theirs. Sometimes it’s funny, sometimes it’s annoying!

  4. Mandy

    AAAAAAAHHHH!!! I thought I was the only one who was totally shocked and horrified by this! It is the poor accent/pronunciation/drawl. Truly awful. Thank goodness TX has so many other things going for it, like the great weather…oh…wait…

    1. Ammon Post author

      Texas does have a lot going for it. I’m here for one.

      They’ve got the Alamo, which I’ll always remember thanks to Pee Wee’s Big Adventure.

      They’ve got the best Tex-Mex anywhere—12 oz steak cut into 1 inch strips on top of a platter sized flour tortilla with guacamole, sour cream, queso sauce, and pico de gallo (tomato, onion, cilantro).

      So many reasons to love Texas. Their ability to speak Spanish just isn’t one of them.

  5. Let's be frank, I'll be Jessica

    Haha. That is why I pronounce( en español) Daah-Las, Huey-stone, Bronsvil brownsville). Good post!

Comments are closed.