Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset

“Is there anything more beautiful than a beautiful, beautiful flamingo, flying across in front of a beautiful sunset? And he’s carrying a beautiful rose in his beak, and also he’s carrying a very beautiful painting with his feet. And also, you’re drunk.”

Deep Thoughts, by Jack Handey

The theme for week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge is Sunset. I’ve witnessed many amazing sunsets. Here are three of my favorites captured on camera.

Sunset from the old Fortín at Juan Griego
This is a view from the old Fortín overlooking the Bahía de Juan Griego on Margarita Island, Nueva Esparta, Venezuela.

Sunset Over Pacific Ocean from Antofagasta
One of the coolest things about living in Chilé was our immaculate ocean view. We spent many evenings watching the sun go down over the Pacific Ocean from our home in Antofagasta.

Sunset at J. W. Marriott Resort in Phuket
In 2009 we spent the vacation of a lifetime at the J. W. Marriott Resort in Phuket, Thailand. Sunsets like the one above were commonplace. If you have the means, I highly recommend making the effort to get there—you won’t be disappointed.

I wish I could take credit for that last photo, but I can’t. My beautiful and much more talented wife captured this one. But I was there, and it was amazing.

Want to participate in the challenge? Head on over to The Daily Post and follow the instructions below.

1. Each week, [they] provide a theme for creative inspiration. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Friday when the next photo theme will be announced.

2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use a “postaday2011″ or “postaweek2011″ tag.

3. Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

Now, take a picture that captures this week’s theme and post a link to it in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sunset

  1. pix & kardz

    beautiful moments – great captures. i love that you still got the last bit of sun on the second image. always amazes me how it is the same old sun no matter where you go, and it never once does a repeat performance. thanks for sharing.

  2. Ammon Post author

    Thank you all for your kind comments! This was a really fun Photo Challenge for me as I got to go back down memory lane and remember some glorious sunsets.

    And I personally think that more blog posts should lead with Jack Handey quotes 🙂

  3. Ammon Post author

    @frizztext, which header did you see? I have my WordPress theme set to rotate the header image so that any one of several images may be displayed at any given time.

Comments are closed.