Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows

When you hear the word windows do you first think of panes of glass or Operating Systems developed in Redmond, Washington?

Yeah, me too.

That’s why when I saw that the theme for this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge was Windows I knew what I wanted to share.

First, I considered of the Old School Windows logo.

Windows 3.0 logo
Image via Wikipedia

…but I thought that would be too boring.

Next, I thought about the all-too-familiar “Blue Screen of Death“.

Windows XP Blue Screen of Death
Image via Wikipedia

…but I thought that would be too snarky.

So, I decided to be more creative. Using the Mac-native DOS emulator Boxer

Boxer Splash Screen

I installed Windows 3.11 (just because I can).

Now, behold and tremble, oh ye people of the Internet, at the wonder and majesty of early 1990’s software running on the latest and greatest from Cupertino!

Notepad & Paintbrush on Mac

Of course, what could be more iconic than of Windows’ Klondike Solitaire?

Windows Solitaire on Mac

I blame Microsoft for the fact that a computer just doesn’t feel fully functional to me until it has an instance of solitaire running on it.

Want to participate in the challenge? Head on over to The Daily Post and follow the instructions below.

1. Each week, [they] provide a theme for creative inspiration. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Friday when the next photo theme will be announced.

2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use a “postaday2011″ or “postaweek2011″ tag.

3. Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

Now, take a picture that captures this week’s theme and post a link to it in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Windows

  1. Joan

    Would it offend you to say that some of these are too old for me to remember? 😉 hahaha I did use to enjoy the casual game of Solitaire and painting on Paint every now and again at age 5, though. Ah, memories…

Comments are closed.