Rock Your Performance Review with a Brag File

It’s time for my mid-year performance review again. This means I get to give an accounting of my KPIs (business speak for goals) for the first half of fiscal year and gauge my progress towards my big fat bonus and raise.

What used to be an agonizing event for me has instead become a welcome opportunity to show exactly how valuable I am and how much I’m contributing to my team, my department, and my company.

The biggest contributing factor of this shift in my experience has been the creation and curation of my personal brag file.

Brag File in WriteRoom

The brag file is a plain text file which I use to store everything, no matter how great or small, that I do outside of my major projects. In my experience, my boss is usually well aware of the large projects I’m working on throughout the year as they are typically well documented and communicated.

However, there are always many important tasks (i.e.: interruptions) which crop up and need to be addressed. By tracking these as they occur I don’t need to try and remember how I spent all of my time.

By storing the brag file as plain text makes it portable and cross platform. This means I can edit the file in any application that accepts a “.txt” file extension regardless of whether it’s my Windows machine at work or on my Mac or iPad at home.

Having all my accomplishments listed in a text file lets me easily attach it to my electronic review form or print it up for talking points when I meet with my boss.

Bonus Tip:

Keep your brag file on DropBox. You can get a free account with 2 GB of online, synchronized storage. DropBox files are accessible via their site or one of the many supporting 3rd party apps on your Mac, PC, iPhone, iPad, etc. to read and write files stored there.

Using the brag file has revolutionized my performance reviews. While not everyone may look forward to them, this one small thing has really helped me make the most of my performance review and it can do the same for you.

What are your tips for rocking the performance review? Sound off in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Rock Your Performance Review with a Brag File

  1. jabe19

    That’s a great way to do it. I haven’t had a need for that kind file to date, but I’d never be able to reconstruct it from memory if I suddenly found myself in that position.

    1. Ammon Post author

      You’d be surprised how much you need it the next time you come up for review. The effort for creating and maintaining the brag file is minimal—1 or 2 minutes a day. Give a try, then return and report 🙂

  2. Slamdunk

    Great idea. It is much easier to keep up with these things if you commit to writing them down regularly instead of trying to think months later.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Absolutely! Getting it out of your head also helps you to focus on what you need to do rather than what you already did.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Really, any DropBox powered text-editor will do. I recommend Elements, but I’ll have to give the brag file app a try. Good find, Dean!

Comments are closed.