New Year’s Resolution

The festivus pole, unadorned and non-lit.

Image via Wikipedia

For as long as I can remember I’ve been setting, but not accomplishing New Year’s Resolutions. I spend the period between December 26th and New Year’s analyzing all the ways I’ve let myself down (it’s like my own personal Festivus minus the aluminum pole and the feats of strength). Then I make a new, huge list of all the changes I want to make in the coming year.

Sure, I give it the “old college try”, but every year it always ends the same way. I do OK for a couple of months until discouragement, laziness, and the overwhelming nature of trying to change too much at one time derail me from my progress.

A couple of weeks back I included one of my favorite Stephen Covey quotes in a post.

 

 

“What one thing could you do in your personal and professional life that, if you did on a regular basis, would make a tremendous positive difference in your life?”

What strikes me the most is the singular nature of Dr. Covey’s question. “What one thing”, he asks. I’ve thought about this quite a bit and determined

So, this year I will be working on one resolution only. That’s it. Not one for each aspect or role in my life (family, spiritual, work, personal, etc). Just one. Period.

My goal is to exercise at least three times a week.

Round Is a Shape
Image via FoxTrot by Bill Amend

I’m going to keep it simple and not overcomplicate things. It’s not that I’m totally out of shape. I just don’t like the shape I’m in—much too round for my liking.

If you haven’t said so before, what one thing could you do that would have the most impact on your life? Sound off in the comments below.

