The Time I Met Vader & Chewie

Best Day Ever

Did I ever tell you about the time I met Darth Vader and Chewbacca? I didn’t!?! Well, it was only the best day of my life!

Yup, that’s little me with them in the picture above. Just chillin’ with Vader and Chewie, no biggie.

In reality, I have absolutely no memory of this day and if it weren’t for this one polaroid, I never would have remembered that this meeting even took place.

From the look of the smile on the face of my 4 year old self I’m pretty sure that this was the highlight of my life up to that point.

What I do remember is that I, like many children of the 70s, loved Star Wars with a passion. I watched the movies, I re-enacted my favorite scenes with the toys, I read the comics, I listened to the records, I the wore t-shirts & pajamas, and slept under the sheets.

Such an encounter couldn’t have been anything less than magical.

What’s the best thing that’s ever happened to you that you can’t remember? Sound off in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

7 thoughts on “The Time I Met Vader & Chewie

  1. AustinDM

    I love that picture, partially because of who Chewie reminds me of, partially because holy crap you look like Andrew there, and partially because, well, Star Wars.

    One of my favorite memories though not sure it’s the best one, (that I only remember through retelling) is the story of you having swimming lessons and little 2 year old me tried to join in, mom saving me and me cheering “I swimmed! I swimmed!”

  2. dinkerson

    Huh… I wonder how you could possibly not remember this event.

    Probably the best thing with me would be going to Six Flags. We have a hundred photos of me throughout the day, but I can remember nothing about it. Of course, I was around three months old πŸ™‚ JK. I think I was around five.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Yeah, there are a bunch of baby photos of me at Yosemite. The only time I’ve ever been. My brothers have been several times with my parents since I left the house and they’re always talking about the time I went too. Really? I was 6 months old–I’ve got no memory of that trip.

  3. Terry Weber

    Love the pic, especially how you can see Chewy’s “human eyes” under the mask. Nice blog.

Comments are closed.