Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

Are you Ready for this week’s the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge? I bet you are. Because I’ve never been more Ready (even if I am a bit late).

Pencil & Paper 3 (LOHO)

It must be all the tests I’ve taken over the years, but nothing says ready to me quite like a sharpened number 2 pencil.

Pencil & Paper 2 (Hint of Vintage)

I love that moment right before you put graphite to paper. There are so many possibilities open to you.

Pencil & Paper 1 (Warm)

Whether it’s a Scantron or a sheet of college-ruled notepaper, as long as you’ve got your trusty number 2 you’re ready for anything.

Want to participate in the challenge? Head on over to The Daily Post and follow the instructions below.

1. Each week, [they] provide a theme for creative inspiration. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Friday when the next photo theme will be announced.

2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use a “postaday2012″ or “postaweek2012″ tag.

3. Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

Now, take a picture that captures this week’s theme and post a link to it in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

This post was Freshly Pressed on February 10, 2012!

46 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Even these images remind me of so many moments waiting for tests to begin, and asking myself, “Are you really ready yet?” It was always interesting to discover the answer, if sometimes a little more pleasant than others. 😉

  2. SmallHouseBigGarden

    good representation of “ready”!!!
    here’s a question for you! are you “ready” to be freshly pressed!!! I’m assuming a looonnnng line of comments will be following this one!
    congrats!!!

  3. Jbot

    I love the idea of this, but I’m afraid I may be too obsessive-compulsive for this to ever work for me. I might just crumple down into a teary mess.

  4. Christina

    I love photo challenges! How fun! RIght now I’m involved with one for the month of February but I may pick this challenge up too. Love your take on Ready.. so true. Congrats on being freshly pressed!

    1. Ammon Post author

      In some respects a mechanical pencil is more practical, but even though they break a good old number 2 is still more satisfying.

  5. island traveler

    As a kid I used to enjoy sharpening my pencils and lining them up in my pencil box. Sometimes I get frustrated when after sharpening as soon as I write something…then back to sharpening. I truly enjoy version of the theme “Ready.” Congratulations!

    1. Ammon Post author

      In elementary school there was always some kid who’s job it was to sharpen everyone else’s pencils. He was kinda like our own Hunchback of Notre Dame minus the deformity and bell-ringing and what-not. I guess he was nothing like him except that he gave me the creeps. Never mind.

  6. janaprangnell

    In relation to the photographs, yeah there’s nothing that says test to me more than a sharpened pencil. It gets me motivated and ready for the task ahead. But I hate feeling like with every moment my pencil begins to go blunt my motivation dwindles alongside.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Despite all of the electronic note-taking tools I have and use, sometimes it’s best to just get it all down with pencil and paper.

    1. Ammon Post author

      No. 2 pencils definitely seem to be the way to go. I never heard of a teacher asking anyone if they had their HB ready!

Comments are closed.