When Pigs Fly in Texas

Everything really is bigger in Texas. The cowboy hats, the belt buckles, the hairdos and even the hood ornaments. I used to think that owning a Cadillac was a sign of maturity, stability, and class.

Pigs Fly

That was before I spotted this winged chrome oinker perched atop the hood of a Caddy at the office recently.

Front Pigs Fly

Clearly, you can’t buy good taste (or good sense for that matter). But, you can buy everything bigger.

What’s the tackiest thing you’ve seen lately? Sound off in the comments below.

All images via my flickr

11 thoughts on “When Pigs Fly in Texas

  1. Words We Women Write

    If this isn’t hog heaven, I don’t know what is! Pigsticking, anyone?
    Love your photos!

  2. Ammon Post author

    I showed these photos off to some co-workers and one of them told me that the winged pig is from the movie Porky’s. I can neither confirm nor deny this as I have never seen the movie.

  3. wadingacross

    I can’t recall what the tackiest thing was that I’ve seen recently, but a porcine hood ornament is pretty funny.

    My father used to have an elephant hood ornament. I don’t know where it originally came from, but he attached it to several of his vehicles.

  4. LegosnEggos.com

    LOL Being a lifelong Texan, I get what you mean. 😉 Also, being a Texan, by far the tackiest thing I’ve seen is the free-swinging gonads that men tie on the rear underside of their trucks around here. I do not get the symbolism except to suggest that the Ford F-150 is male and therefore a virile automobile? Funny or not, It is the most vulgar car accessory invented and way too frequent a sighting.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Ahhh . . . I assume you are referring to the venerable venereal Truck Nutz. Yeah I don’t get the fascination with these things either. Way to stay classy, Texas.

Comments are closed.