Two Keys Chained Together

I think it’s great that every time I rent a car they give me a set of two keys!

So many, many circumstances could arise (I came up with three) where this would be handy.

Two Keys on a Chain

  • Someone else might need to take the car out
  • I might (heaven forbid) lock myself out of the car and need to get in
  • I might (perish the thought) lose a key

Yes, having two keys to the rental car would be great … if they weren’t bound together on the same indestructible keychain without any possible way of ever separating them.

Why do you think they do this? Sound off in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr.

7 thoughts on “Two Keys Chained Together

  1. trixfred30

    You might accidentally drop one of the keys down between the front seats where the handbrake is. You can see it but you cant get at it. Not that I’ve ever done that,obviously

  2. Jenna

    One key may be worn out; not too worn out to unlock the door, but damaged enough not to work in the ignition. I can say for a fact that this happens.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Most rental cars I’ve ever driven are fairly low mileage though. I don’t think I’ve ever driven one with more than 20,000 miles and most are under 10,000. The keys shouldn’t be that worn down in that short amount of time, should they?

Comments are closed.