Seven Songs for the Ultimate Road Warrior’s Playlist

Some travelers jet set to glamorous locations—London, Paris, Madrid, Sydney, Shanghai, etc.—then there are those of us who fly into smaller, regional airports and then drive along rural roads of small-town America. We are the true Road Warriors.

In my current role I spend at least one week a month in Arkansas. The only thing that’s kept me sane on the long drives from LRNA to our field office has been a steady stream of great music.

Here are seven of my go-to tracks for the Ultimate Road Warrior’s playlist.

  1. On the Road AgainWillie Nelson

    On the Road Again

    This track signifies the beginning of another trip away from home. I’m never as anxious as Willie to be back on the road though.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  2. I’ve Been EverywhereJohnny Cash

    The Legend of Johnny Cash

    Sometimes it feels like I’ve been everywhere, seen everything, and done everything. The Man in Black gets that like few others do.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  3. Working Man Blues – Merle Haggard

    Best of Merle Haggard

    Yeah, it’s a big job getting’ by with three kids and a wife. This song reminds of why I take these trips. So, I can provide the best life I can for the ones I love.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  4. Truckin’ – Grateful Dead
  5. American Beauty

    “What a long, strange trip it’s been” ‘Nuff said.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  6. Midnight Rider – The Allman Brothers Band

    The Allman Brothers Band - A Decade of Hits

    When my flight has been delayed (and delayed again and again and again …) this song provides the perfect soundtrack for those long, late night drives from the airport to the hotel.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  7. Ramble On – Led Zeppelin

    Led Zeppelin II

    By the end of a long week, I’m just ready to hit the road. This song not echoes that sentiment, but gets serious geek fred for its Lord of the Rings references (both Mordor and Gollum).

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

  8. Take Me Home Country Roads – John Denver

    John Denver's Greatest Hits

    This is the perfect song for driving back to the airport. My trip is over and all I want to do is go home and see the wife and kids.

    Available on iTunes and Amazon

For someone who claims not to be a Country Music fan This playlist is fairly fluid, but right now these are the songs I want to hear in my rental on my way to and from the the airport.

What do you want to hear when traveling along the open road? Sound off in the comments below.

All album art courtesy of Amazon

3 thoughts on “Seven Songs for the Ultimate Road Warrior’s Playlist

Comments are closed.