Seven Best Road Trip Snacks

School starts for los niños on Monday which means (sadly) that summer, 2012 is drawing to a close.

The highlight of our summer was our road trip from Texas to Southern California. We saw the Grand Canyon, sunned ourselves along the Pacific, and spent a few magical days in the kingdom that Walt built … and boy, oh boy did we eat a lot of snacks on our way!

Convenience Store
Convenience Store via Angry Fitness Trainer.

Here are seven of my all-time favorite road trip snacks; many of which we enjoyed on our summer trek.

1. Corn Nuts

Corn Nuts
Corn Nuts via able2know.

Corn nuts are a really, really crunchy snack that come in myriad flavors. Bonus—if you eat them you will keep the driver awake.

2. Trail Mix

Gorp
Trail Mix via Wikipedia.

I prefer to make my own trail mix. My favorite recipe (I’ll use that term loosely) consists of peanuts, raisins, and plain M&Ms. Generally, I make it a rule not to eat raisins, but when they’ve got the other two companions I’ll gladly make an exception.

3. Red Licorice

Red Vines
Red Vines via Adrian Gyuricska on Kontain.

When I say red licorice I really mean Red Vines. I would never, ever eat Twizzlers. Not even on a bet.

4. Beef Jerky

Old West Beef Jerky Pieces
Old West Beef Jerky Pieces via Best Beef Jerky.

High protein. Low fat. Those are just two of the reasons I justify my love of beef jerky. I would eat it all the time if I could (afford to).

5. Hostess Products

Hostess Orange Cupcakes 02
Hostess Orange Cupcakes via Brand Eating.

At the risk of sounding terribly white trash I must confess that I love all Hostess brand snack cakes. From Twinkies to Zingers, from Ding Dongs to Dunkin Stix and even my personal favorite Orange Cupcakes—I love me the Hostess with the mostest. Plus, they have an amazing shelf life (i.e.: forever).

6. Caffeinated beverages

Mountain Dew
Mountain Dew Logo via Wikipedia.

Whether your drug of choice is Dr. Pepper, Mountain Dew, Jolt or (my wife’s fave) Coke Zero sometimes you need a good old caffeine-laden soda. They help keep your lids from drooping and keep your family alive.

7. Doritos

Doritos
Doritos via Alaska Market Link Store.

These chips are so good that their inventor literally went into the final journey in a casket lined with them.

There you have it, that’s my list of essential road trip comestibles.

What’s must have goodies do you pick up on your cross-country drives? Sound off in the comments below.

What’s your favorite road trip snack? Sound of in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Seven Best Road Trip Snacks

    1. Ammon Post author

      There are plenty of other (and even more healthy) snacks that I enjoy. However, once I hit the open road and make my first pit stop at Buc-ee’s these are the things I crave.

  1. LucyJartz

    I like praline pecans on a trip, string cheese sticks, and apples. My driver likes coffee and a brownie. He likes burgers on a trip, I prefer fresh subs. Buc-ee’s is about two hours from here, so we usually stop first at Starbucks.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Best thing to get at Buc-ee’s is the beef jerky. They have a beef jerky counter that puts most deli counters to shame.

      Plus, I’ve never seen cleaner restrooms! I make it a point to hold it until we get to Buc-ee’s as a matter of principle. Well worth it.

  2. AustinDM

    I was surprised by none of these, which made me happy that I know you so well. Though I’ve been substituting Mountain Dew/Dr. Pepper/Whatever for 5 hour energy drinks. They give you the caffeine jolt you need without the need to pee the next few minutes.

    1. Ammon Post author

      So, you know my likes . . . But what about yours? What do y’all grab from the Kwik-E-Mart when traveling?

      Also, how do those 5 hour energy drinks taste? Is there one flavor you think is good (or at least not nasty swill)?

Comments are closed.