GTD Comes to Houston

GTD Notes

Last Sunday I finished David Allen’s productivity opus, Getting Things Done. Sure, it took me three years to read, but that was my fault, not the book’s. I loved it.

I’d started the book several times and never finished. It’s not that I didn’t like the book or that I couldn’t get into it—I was afraid that if I read it in its entirety I’d have to hold myself to a higher standard that I wasn’t ready to commit to, yet (for whatever reason).

GTD via Amazon
Image via Amazon.

I’ve been practicing my own modified version of GTD for a few years now anyways thanks to what I had read from the GTD book and from the tips and insight I picked up from sites like 43 Folders and Lifehacker. But, I was ready for more.

A while back I signed up for the David Allen mailing list thinking someday I’d like to attend a training. However, they never scheduled anything for Houston I couldn’t justify the travel for one day of training.

Every time they sent the training schedule I’d fire off a reply asking when they were going to bring the training series to Houston—you know, the fourth biggest city in the US? Space City? The world’s oil & gas capitol? Any of that ring a bell?

GTD Files

Someone must have listened (thanks for that), because this week I attended the Mastering Workflow for Business Leaders course in the heart of Downtown Houston. And how was it?

Consider my expectations exceeded! As much as I loved the GTD book, it was so much more useful to participate in the instructor-led training. It turns out that there were several concepts (identifying desired final outcome, weekly review, etc.) that I was either doing wrong or at least not as effectively as I could have been.

5 Phases of Mastering Workflow

The highlight of the day, however, was sharing tips and tricks with the other highly efficient, productive professionals who were there—I can’t overstate how valuable that was.

Would I go to another GTD training? Yes, yes, and yes! I recommend this course no matter where you are on the GTD journey. We had attendees who had been to the course multiple times, folks who’d never even cracked the spine of the book, and everywhere in between. You can find out more about GTD and sign up for upcoming trainings on the official David Allen.

Bonus: Not content with other GTD workflow diagrams I’d seen, I decided to make my own.

GTD - Workflow

You can download a printable version here.

Are you using GTD, the Seven Habits, Pomodoro, or some other producitivy methodology? How are you making it work for you? Sound off in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

3 thoughts on “GTD Comes to Houston

  1. AustinDM

    I’m about as productive as I can stand, but don’t have much of a system at the moment, apart from things I learned from 7 Habits when I read it @ 10 years ago. I’ll have to give this book a try when I have time over the next couple years.

  2. Pingback: Email Productivity Hack: Message in Subject Line | slightly insightful

Comments are closed.