Seven Spectacularly Geeky Fake Holidays

I love holidays as much for their traditions as for the time off from work that accompany many of them. Christmas, Easter, Halloween, the Fourth of July, Thanksgiving, President’s Day, Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, and even Cinco de Mayo—these are all real holidays.

National Beef Jerky Day and National Flannel Day, not so much.

Here are seven other aweseomely fake holidays that are so geektastic I hope that we’ll be celebrating them for years to come—even if it’s only on the Internet.

Pixar-esque Pirate
Image via AustinDM.

1. September 19

Talk Like a Pirate Day is the first fake holiday I’ll mention, not because it’s first in my heart, but rather because it’s tomorrow. Arr lads!, this be a scurvy holiday to be sure.

2. June 29

I’m not a big fan of unicorns myself, mostly because I’m not an eight year old girl. But, Unicorn Appreciation Day reminds me of J.D. from Scrubs. And any holiday that can make me think about one half of the greatest bromance of all time OK by me.

3. March 14

Pi Day is quite possibly the geekiest holiday on this list. The mathematical wunder-number 3.1415926535897932384626433832795028…, or Π, is abbreviated as 3.14. This works largely because there is a 14th day in the third month of the year. If you needed this explained to you then you don’t deserve to celebrate this special day.

4. August 28

Held on the birthday of Jack “King” Kirby (co-creator of Captain America, the Fantastic Four, the Incredible Hulk, and way too many others to list), Read Comics in Public Day lets geeks be geeks by taking pride in doing one of their favorite things.

5. May 25

I’ve written about Towel Day, or Geek Pride Day before. What better way to honor the memory of Douglas Adams and geeks everywhere than to carry a towel around with you all day.

6. June 1

Personally, I think every day should be National Punch a Hipster Day. Unfortunately, it comes but once a year. Apparently, “this is a hipster created hipster hating event … Hipsters are so hipster that they think hipsters are uncool!”

7. December 23

It should come as no surpise that from the best sitcom of all time we get the best fake holiday of all time. “Festivus, for the rest of us!” Legend has it that one winter’s eve the father of George Costanza brought home an aluminum pole, regaled his family members with tales of all the ways they’d disappointed him during the past year, and then challenged them to feats of strength. Which fake holidays do you celebrate? Sound off in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Seven Spectacularly Geeky Fake Holidays

  1. AustinDM

    Arr, matey. Ye spelled “Spectacularly” wrong in thar title of this here post. Also, the link to me website be broken.

    In other news, yar, I celebrate Mole day, or Oct. 23, though I not be a chemist. Not like I’m observant of it either, mind you, I just wanted to let ye know it be out there.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Arr, thanks fer pointin’ that out, me’hearty! Me spelling be a might bit hampered when typin’ it out on me wee iPad.

      Mole Day be a fine fake holiday fer celebratin’ and grog swillin’. But, if I had to choose but one math-based holiday it be Pi Day 10 times out o’ 10.

  2. AustinDM

    Don’t forget, if you go to Krispy Kreme talking like a pirate, you get a free donut. If you come dressed like one, you get a free dozen.

    Krispy Kreme! It be where ALL Pirates eat!

Comments are closed.