Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

Few things in life are more illuminating than a good book. Even fewer books are as illuminating as the Good Book itself, the Holy Bible.

Divina

I was taught to love the holy scriptures in my youth and have made their reading and application a part of my ongoing study. They have been a constant source of light and truth throughout my whole life.

Want a free Bible? Get one here.

What books provide illumination in your life? Sound off in the comments below.


This post is a part of the ongoing WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge series.

Want to participate in the challenge? Head on over to The Daily Post and follow the instructions below.

  1. Each week, [they] provide a theme for creative inspiration. You take photographs based on your interpretation of the theme, and post them on your blog anytime before the following Friday when the next photo theme will be announced.
  2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Weekly Photo Challenge: (theme of the week)” and be sure to use a “postaday2013” or “postaweek2013” tag.
  3. Subscribe to The Daily Post so that you don’t miss out on weekly challenge announcements. Sign up via the email subscription link in the sidebar or RSS.

Now, take a picture that captures this week’s theme and post a link to it in the comments below.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Illumination

  1. dinkerson

    This is an awesome shot. You should check out my photo blog sometime. It seems like I’ve seen you there, perhaps.
    I find inspiration in the works of C.S. Lewis. I’ve read most of his books, and haven’t found one that I’ve not very much enjoyed.

    1. Ammon Post author

      CS Lewis was definitely an illuminating writer. I recently read his Space Trilogy and found it to be terrible Sci-Fi, but first rate allegorical fiction.

    2. dinkerson

      I don’t talk to too many folks who’ve read the Space Trilogy. I’m impressed. 🙂
      I don’t read much Sci-Fi, thus I can’t rate it compared to other books in that genre.
      I did enjoy his take on worlds untouched by “the fall”.
      I really enjoyed how he painted an image of contentment, and pleasure in small things. I often wonder if that isn’t going to be the essence of heaven.
      Always fun to drop by, Ammon.

    3. Ammon Post author

      Welcome back, it’s great to have you around 🙂

      Truth be told, I’d never heard of the series until a couple of years ago. I loved the Narnia books as a child (and even more as an adult), so I gave them a try.

      I was not disappointed–my expectations were shattered. The Space Trilogy contain some of the best doctrinal commentary on the fall of man, the atonement, etc.

      I even liked the introduction of Merlin and where Lewis went with that character. IMHO, each book got better than the one that preceded it.

Comments are closed.