I Have a Dream

Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King, Jr. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This Monday kids will be home from school and many businesses across the United States will close in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and his legacy.

Nearly 50 years ago Dr. King delivered one of the greatest speeches ever recorded. Watch the video below.

Are we any closer to the fulfilling of King’s dream today than we were back when he shared it in front of the Lincoln Memorial? I’m not sure—especially when the copyright for this speech belongs to a private corporation and not in the public domain where it belongs.

What can we do to make this dream a reality? Sound off in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “I Have a Dream

  1. IVIRGIN

    I heart this speech, and love the fact that today our first BIRACIAL President is having his Inaugural activities today on this day… What a GREAT coincidence!

    This video always gives me chills and we watched it last year with our kiddos and will watch it again with our kiddos.

    I think we are on the road to seeing his dream actualized in this country, but we have such a long way to go. In some ways I don’t think it will ever happen fully, because like history hate is too passed down and through a family. Granted each generation is different in their hate but it is still very present in our world today even as the majority race is fast becoming the minority race… anyways…

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. dinkerson

    Ugh. I would like to think that Dr. King wasn’t thinking anything along the lines of the direction we are heading. This White race bashing that I see everywhere, along blacks boasting of being black, while even a reference to race, from a white man, sounds a little racist is putrid.
    Here’s a quote from Jay-Z

    “I know ya’ll thanking a lot of people right now… I want to thank two people. I want to thank the mother****er overseas that threw two shoes at George Bush, and I want to thank the mother****ers who helped them move they shit up out the White House. Get it moving bitch! My president is mother****ing black!”

    Now, I believe that Dr. King would have called this man a racist pig. And he would’ve been correct. But we’ve moved so far away from Dr. King’s dream that, not only was Jay-Z not even scolded for his racist comments, he and his wife have been invited to several presidential events!!!
    Jesus Christ! No, I don’t think we’re close to the “dream”. I don’t even think we remember what the hell the dream was.
    Here’s a reminder… Equality.

    1. Ammon Post author

      “I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.”

      I’m still praying for that day to arrive.

Comments are closed.