LinkedIn Says I’m One in a Million

LinkedIn just sent me an email confirming me what I already knew—I’m one in a million. According to LinkedIn, my profile was one of the top 5% most viewed profiles of 2012. Well, isn’t that special (said in my best Church Lady voice)?

So, here’s the email they sent me.

LinkedIn Top 5%

I’ve done the arithmetic and it all checks out. If I multiply 0.05 (5%) by 200 million (the number of LinkedIn users) I get 1,000,000 10,000,000. The numbers don’t lie. Quite literally, I’m one in a million.

Suddenly, I don’t feel nearly as special. I blame math. And reality.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

12 thoughts on “LinkedIn Says I’m One in a Million

  1. Jessica

    Well at least you’re one in a million. I haven’t updated my LinkedIn portfolio in so long it’s embarrassing. I know I should but just can’t seem to get motivated to do it! So, congratulations!

    1. Ammon Post author

      The whole one in a million business makes me feel like an old poster I saw from the demotivational guys. It had a picture of a snowflake and had the caption “Unique: Remember you are different. Just like everyone else.”

  2. LucyJartz

    Congratulations. Pretty funny how the numbers are corrected right before saying “numbers don’t lie” and “blame math”. Keep blogging.
    BTW
    I have half a LinkedIn profile. I keep putting off entering the rest of my job history. But I will check out your profile to keep your numbers up.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Keeping it real. The math error was mine. The headline stands because one in a million reads so much better than one in ten million.

Comments are closed.