When the Kids Fight: Flames on the Side of My Face

These are my kids: Bongo, Lulabelle, and the Baby. They are talented, smart, funny (they get that from me), good-looking (they get that from their mother), and all-around awesome.

When people see them they think they’re like this all the time.

The Niños

I love my kids!

Usually, they get along exceptionally well, but now that it’s summer they’ve been spending a lot more time with each other. This means that by the time I come home from work they’ve pretty much driven each other (and their mother) crazy. That’s when the fighting starts.

I don’t know if it’s the whining or the screaming part of the fighting—no wait, it’s totally the screaming—however, when the fighting starts something terrible happens to me.

I get so angry that I lose the ability to formulate coherent sentences. I feel like Madeline Kahn in this scene from Clue.

I love my kids. Let me say it again, I love my kids! However, the fighting and screaming, have to go. My sanity depends on it.

All images are from my flickr, unless otherwise noted.

9 thoughts on “When the Kids Fight: Flames on the Side of My Face

  1. LucyJartz

    I had a day like that yesterday with my husband and son. It was like having two children, both much younger than their actual ages, telling fart jokes and questioning each other’s masculinity. For some reason, they thought I’d ‘enjoy’ joining their stupid (revelry?) rivalry.

    1. Ammon Post author

      I agree 100% and without hesitation. But, that’s only what they look like when they’re behaving. Lately, they look more like this.

      Large Marge

  2. meganvalery

    My mom had Cameron and I look each other in the eye and say 10 things we loved / liked about each other. Worked every time, no matter how grumpy we were at the start of it.

    1. Ammon Post author

      Great suggestion! In our experience that generally works after tempers have cooled, but not in the heat of the moment. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Comments are closed.