This Is Why I Blog

An old friend and I recently chatted about blogging and writing in general. As part of the conversation I put into words, quite possibly for the first time, why I blog.

What it all comes down to is this: I write the kind of posts that I would want to read. So, even if my blog has an audience of one (which I’m sure it often does) it serves as a creative outlet for me.

Yesterday, I read an interview Seth Godin gave in issue #10 of Productive Magazine which totally validated my reason for blogging. The interviewer asked Seth how he manages to post so frequently and he responded with the following.

Seth Godin from Productive Magazine

Well, I think the most important thing to understand about blogging is that if you are blogging for other people you are going to be disappointed. Even if no one would read it I would still blog. And the people I know who blog passionately, all of them say exactly the same thing. So that is the way you have to look at it, you can’t say: “I’m not getting enough comments I’m not going to blog. I’m not getting enough money, I’m not going to blog”. You have to say: “this is a great chance for me to clear my thoughts and put them into the world, what an opportunity”.
— Seth Godin

Wow, talk about validation! Seth Godin proves once again that he gets it.

Why do you blog? Sound off in the comments below.

Photo of Seth Godin via Productive Magazine

13 thoughts on “This Is Why I Blog

    1. Ammon Post author

      Sometimes I’m we worry needlessly about how others will receive our work, but if we’re honest with ourselves and realize why we’re doing this and who it’s really for then none of that matters.

  1. AustinDM

    Peter Jackson has said “Make movies for yourself. That way at least one person will like it.” I feel that way about blogging. Oftentimes I think ‘who would want to read this,’ but I write it anyway.

    Just so you know, I almost always love reading your blog, even though you don’t do it for validation, I think it’s still nice to be validated once in awhile. 😉

    1. Ammon Post author

      Just so you know, I almost always love reading your comments, even though you don’t do it for validation. No wait. What am I saying? You totally do it for validation.

      Consider yourself validated.

    1. AustinDM

      Oh yes you have. I guess I wanted more validation. Very verbose validation vindicating the verification and vanguarding vice and vouchsafing the virulent vermin violating the violation of volition.

  2. Layinka

    Great post!
    I blog to motivate myself. I blog so that I can track my past actions and not repeat similar mistakes. I blog as a way of tracking time. Finally, I blog so that others with similar interests will stay motivated!! xx Layinka

Comments are closed.