How to Trick a Girl into Watching a Superhero Movie

My Hero
Image via my flickr

Superhero movie season is upon us once again. Thor, X-Men First Class, Captain America, and Green Lantern (sadly no Wonder Twins movie though) will all grace the big screen this summer.

If you’re anything like me, you’ve already begun thinking about how you can possibly trick convince the girl (or guy) in your life to see one all of these with you.

My wife is a trooper and I’ve already been able to talk her into seeing one of these with me, but I want to see them all! How can I get her to go with me?

The following exchange between my five year-old son and his older sister provides the answer. (They were in the process of negotiating which DVD they were going to watch when I overheard this…)

Bongo: How about this one?
Lulabelle: No, I don’t want to see it.
Bongo: You’ll like it. It has romance!
Lulabelle: I am not watching Spider-Man!

OK, so maybe it didn’t work out quite the way that he had hoped, but guess what? 90% of the time it does. Plus, you’ve got to give the kid credit for playing the romance card—did I mention he’s only five?!? He’s smooth that one, real smooth.

It turns out that most superhero shows are so good these days that all you don’t need to resort to trickery to get non-fans to watch them with you.

Because Bongo asks her, he has gotten Lulabelle to watch everything from Justice League Unlimited and Batman Beyond to Iron Man and yes, even Spider-Man with him!

All you really need to do is ask.

What tactics will you use to get your gal (or dude) to watch this years superhero flicks? Got anything better than flat out asking? Sound off in the comments below.



This post was featured on the 9rules Noteworthy Content of the Week blog on June 8, 2011!

3 thoughts on “How to Trick a Girl into Watching a Superhero Movie

  1. AustinDM

    Go, Bongo. That kid cracks me up

    I think there are many of the female genre who see superhero movies for the same reasons those of the male genre would. Action, perhaps a silly plot, visual effects, nostalgia, etc. (And I did see that you asked your gal OR dude, but I like to argue semantics for no reason, you should know that about me).

    If your question is how would you convince someone who normally wouldn’t be interested in a superhero movie to watch a superhero movie with you, I’d say either go the path of Bongo and trick/play the Romance card to them, or compromise and promise to see a movie they want to watch for every one you want to see.

    And then of course conveniently forget the compromise the next time you go to the movies and see X-Men First Class.

  2. Ammon Post author

    Thanks, it’s one of my favorite pics of Bongo, too. The gal OR dude comment was intentional, by the way. I don’t want to alienate any slightly insightful readers out there—be they he or she.

Comments are closed.